Home

I must be pretty lucky lately because OpenTable has reached out to me for a mini collaboration.  Although I don’t actively advertise my blog, it seems like people are finding me through review sites like Urbanspoon, Zomato, and Yelp.  Anyhow, I probably should start expanding on Twitter and Instagram =p

OpenTable is a website that allows users like yourself to book restaurants online.  The restaurant’s availability will also be shown online so that you don’t have to call.  Unique to this website is a point system that allows users to redeem points for gifts.  Unfortunately I’m not an expert in this aspect, but I’m sure you can check out the FAQs for additional info.

That’s Italian Express
(416) 482-5426
10447 Yonge St Unit 3 Richmond Hill, ON L4C3C2

Access
The restaurant is located in a plaza but may be difficult to find at night time (at least for us it was). My advice is to use GPS and don’t be worried about driving a “little” slower once you drive North of Major Mackenzie. The restaurant itself is not very big and making U-Turns would definitely be a hassle if you are driving on Yonge.

Service
It is a small restaurant that serves no more than 10 tables. Even though the place is super small, you are immediately welcomed by friendly staff at the front. It is a good idea to make reservations on a weekend. We arrived around 7:30pm (30 minutes before our reservation time) but the restaurant was able to seat us immediately. Unfortunately, the first half of our experience was slow and the waiter was a bit stressed out from all the orders. It took him a while to get to us but that’s okay, we will live. I think I may be a little sensitive but I sensed a bit of uneasiness from the waiter when I declined to order drinks. My boyfriend elected to order beer after but the selection was limited so we declined again. As the night went by, our waiter opened up more and eventually apologized for how he was so busy. We were surprised and appreciated this honest gesture.

Food
Before I go into the details, I just want to say that the portions were perfect. I probably ate more than I should but that’s a good thing. The only disappointment I had was in the dessert but we will get to that soon.  For some reason I made a stupid mistake and took all my photos vertically, it doesn’t look appealing at all in my blog lols.  By the way, my boyfriend ordered a special menu that included an appetizer, entree, and dessert, all for $30.  Definitely a deal!

Appetizer and bread:
For some as inexperienced as myself I’m going to guess that I had ciabatta buns (and I did like it), but please correct me if I’m wrong.  I find it rare to ever taste good bread at a restaurant; most of the time the bread is dry and flavourless.  Even though butter will help, I think the bread itself has to taste good in the first place.  The calamari was quite good, crispy outside, and not too tough once you chew past the crispy skin.  It’s quite salty already and the sauce doesn’t really add much (it’s actually sour).

wpid-wp-1424313257266.jpeg  wpid-wp-1424313251373.jpeg

Pasta
The fettuccine (on the left) was soaked in sauce (or maybe olive oil) but the pasta left a bitter taste at the end of each bite.  It definitely was not bad but a little different from what I expected and all the sauce was found in the bottom.  My linguine (on the right) was better; it had almost no sauce and the chef did a good job of putting the right amount of seasoning.  It did not feel dry at all.  I will also give the dishes a double thumbs up for not cheap-ing out on the seafood and those tiger shrimps were delicious.  The pasta was alright, but I’ve had better.

wpid-20150213_202536.jpg  wpid-20150213_202531.jpg

Dessert:
It is unfortunate that the tiramisu didn’t turn out amazing; in fact it was lacking.  The top layer was done alright but some parts of the dessert were still frozen (not good!).  I’m glad they gave us two scoops of the tiramisu so we could share.

wpid-20150213_204607.jpg

My Rating: 7.4/10
Others would rate it as: 7.5/10

I see potential in this restaurant and feel that they could do really well with more experience.  I wouldn’t mind coming back to try their pizza or even order by delivery.

That's Italian Express on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

