Home

I’m sure you guys have heard of those at-home coffee making machines from brands like Keurig and Tassimo. Have you seen the one by Nespresso? Their machines are engineered in Switzerland and your coffee comes in aluminum half-spherical pods. The machine itself is retailing for approximately $300 and right now Eatons Centre is offering free samples for the next 3 weeks on Level 2 (in front of Sears and Swarovski). The experience is quite unique as customers can select their preferred pod from a touch screen app. It’s the newest machine that they are marketing here: Vertuoline. My capsule was Voltesso and I wanted it to be made as a capuccino. I’m not sure if the lady was doing it correctly but my cup was only half-filled lols. As well, she mixed everything together at the end and I’m like hmmm, seems incorrect? Apparently the milk forthing process is automatic, you just have to press a button to steam the milk etc. I’ve worked in Paintlounge previously and I’m familiar with placing a metal wand in a cup and measuring its temperature with a thermometer. I thought the cup was extremely good-looking lol (given that it’s free), and the service here beats my restaurant experience at St. Louis lol (at Fairview). They do a good job to explain their products and actually don’t urge customers to buy the machine. Their only role is to make you enjoy the moment and the drink.

Verdict:
My cappuccino was amazing and is actually on par with Starbucks. Now you might ask me how I rate my drinks. Honestly I’m not sure but I can tell you which stores suck at make latte/cappuccinos: Second Cup , McDonald’s, and Tim Hortons. I feel that a good drink does not require too much add-ons like sugar afterwards. At least in Starbucks, I rarely have to put in honey or sugar; they are never that bitter (mildly, yes). Also, you should be able to taste the expresso – which you can with Nespresso, so that’s a big plus! If you are looking for a drink with more milk…you want a latte =/

nes

image

image

Anyhow I feel that Nespresso tastes better than Keurig and Tassimo. But go to Eatons and try it out!

Leave a Reply

