[Restaurant Review] Guu Izakaya @ Gastown

Izakaya is a Japanese term to describe a type of dining where one would drink with the accompaniment of tapas (small dishes).  They are usually quite loud and are open for service around evening/dinner times (e.g. after 5pm).  Guu is a familiar name for those living in Vancouver and Toronto, and for me I visited its 3rd store in Gastown.  Let’s take a look at some of the stuff I ordered!

 Grilled Squid
This dish can be found on the separate menu (the black and white one) and unfortunately I already forgot the name of it.  First of all it looks amazing, second it’s so frigg’n juicy when you put it in your mouth.  It’s super squishy and soft so the flavours are absorbed entirely.  Savour the taste!
image

Kimchi Pork Bibimbap
Unlike your usually bibimbap from korean restaurants, Guu likes to add a little spice to it and tickle your taste buds.  The bowls aren’t as big but it’s SO FILLING.  I don’t even know how to explain it but there seems to be more flavours in this dish.  Most bibimbap do not include pork, and are mostly veggy based so it’s a must-try!

image

Sake Mojito (the one behind)
It’s good, try it!  The lime doesn’t override the other flavours; making it sweet and soda-ish to drink.

Matcha Coco (our focus picture)
It looks great but tastes average.  I think the mint here takes control of all the other flavours and the matcha is thus hidden.

image

Overall, Guu is a great experience.  Please be aware that waiting time is at least 1 hour (unless you line up when it first opens).  I’ve tried the one in Toronto and I had to wait a total of 3 hours (isn’t that crazy?).  Since you are waiting, you might as well grab the menu and slowly pick your dishes.  Their cheese dishes are to die for but my friend didn’t want to order any of them.  We did order more food but I didn’t want to take a picture of every single thing, maybe next time

My Rating: 88% (using percentages for good comparison)
Urbanspoon Rating: 89%
Guu Otokomae on Urbanspoon

image

4 thoughts on “[Restaurant Review] Guu Izakaya @ Gastown

  1. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it
    up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to
    everything. Do you have any recommendations for inexperienced blog
    writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    • WordPress probably thought you were a spammer based on your profile/youtube info. If you want to blog, make sure you are writing about something that you have a passion for. Updating is crucial and it’s the most challenging part about being a blogger (I need to improve in this aspect too). Good luck

Leave a Reply

